Feeling Loved

I have heard a lot about the 5 Love Languages recently.  So, I decided to take the test and find out what my love language is.  The idea is that the test will reveal the top emotional expressions that make you feel loved.  The five love languages include words of affirmation, acts of service, receiving gifts, quality time, and physical touch.  The theory is that your love language represents which expressions of love most resonate with you. So, for example, I took the test and my results were as follows:

  1. Physical Touch – 9
  2. Quality Time – 8
  3. Words of Affirmation – 6
  4. Acts of Service – 5
  5. Receiving Gifts – 2

Thus, I feel most loved when my partner and I share a lot of physical touch.  As the profile indicates, this isn’t all about the bedroom.  Physical touch includes hugs, pats on the back, holding hands, and thoughtful touches on the arm, shoulder, or face.  So, for me, physical presence and accessibility are crucial. Physical touch fosters a sense of security and belonging in any relationship.

For me, this could not be more accurate.  When I have a bad day, I want a big hug.  When I’m walking with my guy, I want to hold hands.  When we’re sitting on the couch watching TV, I want to snuggle or play with his hair.  And if for some reason we’re not hugging, holding hands or snuggling, I turn into a “crazy” girl and automatically think something is wrong.  I’m a girl, I overthink things.

According to the test, I also feel loved when I get quality time with my partner.  According to my profile, I feel loved when I have my partners undivided attention.  As such, distractions, postponed dates, or the failure to listen are especially hurtful to me. Quality Time also means sharing quality conversation and quality activities.

Again, I couldn’t agree more with this assessment of myself.  A few months ago I planned a Cheesy Date Night In with Mike complete with board games, wine, and a flirty round of “would you rather”.  I enjoyed that night so much and went to bed feeling happy and Very loved.  I thought it was one of our best dates.

To read more about the five love languages check out their webpage.  And while it’s great for you to take the test and learn what makes you feel loved, it is more important to share that information with your partner and learn what their love languages are so you can make sure you are making each other feel loved.  So, what is your love language?

Marissa Sweet

Marissa Sweet wrote 85 posts

Post navigation